Cyprus is an independent, sovereign republic with a presidential system of government and a written constitution which safeguards the rule of law, political stability and human rights. The head of the state and of the Government is the President who is elected every 5 years. The Constitution of the Republic of Cyprus provides for the separation of 3 powers of government:

1. The Executive Power (Ministries)

The Executive Power has an obligation to apply and safeguard the laws, ensure the defense and security of the state, maintain good relationship with other countries and in general to take the necessary measures for the economic and intellectual development of the public. Executive power is exercised by the President, the Ministers and 11 member Cabinet. The President appoints the Ministers whο comprise the 11 member Cabinet. In the Republic of Cyprus currently there are 11 Ministries. 

2. The Legislative Power (Parliament)

The Legislative Power is exercised by the House of the Parliament which is voting the law proposals into law or rejects them. The House of the Parliament represents the official procedure to express the requests of the public and safeguard its interests. Additionally the Parliament is voting the State Budget before each economic year.

3. The Judicial Power (Courts)

The Judicial Power is responsible to promote justice by rectifying whatever was committed against the law; resolve any conflicts in accordance to the law; surveil the law proposals to comply with the constitution, and control the Executive Power to restrict its powers according to the Constitution and the Law. As a result the Supreme power is lying down to the Constitution which is safeguarded by the Judicial Power.