In the Republic of Cyprus currently there are 11 Ministries. Each ministry and each Department/Service has its own organizational structure, which is strictly hierarchical, with clear responsibilities at all levels and appropriate reporting mechanisms/communication between various hierarchical levels. With the exception of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Defence, the remaining nine ministries are subject to specific Departments/Services.

The Ministers are responsible for the application of the laws that are relevant to their duties, the organisation and administration of the services falling under their Ministry and the preparation of their Ministry's Budget.

The 11 member Cabinet manages and controls the governance of the Republic of Cyprus; coordinates the public services; surveils the assets of the country and processes the budget and the law proposals before their submission to the Parliament.